• Innovation Awards Team


The SACRAMENTO REGION INNOVATION AWARDS aims to shine a light on the area’s vibrant innovation community. Bolt Star was a 2016 FINALIST in the Advanced Manufacturing category.

In May of 2018, we asked for an update and received the following from President Ken Gregory.

Remind us, what was the big idea behind your innovation? The big idea was making a tool that solved all the inherent problems of an inefficient construction method, and then making the tool re-useable.

What’s new since your Innovation Awards recognition? Since November 2016, we improved on the existing 24” BOLT STAR product and commenced international distribution.

Any new innovations on the horizon, that you can share? Yes, we have developed an adaptor that enables BOLT STAR to be used on square forms as typically seen in building foundations.

What piece of advice would you give to an entrepreneur starting their first business? You have to convince the world of the way you see things, one person at a time. Stay focused on your primary market and why you believe your product is the best invention ever.

What’s your “one thing” that most drives your professional success? Undying perseverance.

What’s great about doing business here? Everything you need to start and effectively run a business is right here in the Sacramento region.

We established a #1 brand in a crowded construction tool market. BOLT STAR® is the world’s most advanced reusable anchor bolt template.
Bolt Star LLC is based in Granite Bay, CA. 

Take a look back to the 2016 FINALISTS for Advanced Manufacturing Innovation of the Year.

Sacramento Region Innovation Awards 2018: Call for Entries June 1 to July 20

The 3rd Annual SACRAMENTO REGION INNOVATION AWARDS will recognize the area’s vibrant innovation community — from startups to established companies — and their breakthrough creations. Apply yourself or submit a nomination between June 1 and July 20. Eligible entries will undergo a strict evaluation process by peers and leaders from the Capital Region’s business, civic and academic communities. Pioneering innovations will be judged on novelty, market need, economic impact and disruption.

The program will accept entries for recently developed business innovations that are established in the 9-county Sacramento region. New technologies, as well as other products, services and processes, must fit within one of the eight program categories, including 1) Advanced Manufacturing; 2) Food and Agribusiness; 3) Government and Civic; 4) Hardware and Electronics; 5) Medical and Health – MedTech; 6) Medical and Health – BioPharma; 7) Software; and 8) Sustainability. Additional eligibility requirements are described on the program website.

In celebrating regional innovation, the awards aim to strengthen the Sacramento story, build the local economy, and stimulate the creative minds fueling our innovation ecosystem. Founded in 2016 by business law firm Stoel Rives LLP, the program is made possible with support from Moss Adams LLP, the Sacramento Business Journal, Five Star Bank, and the Greater Sacramento Economic Council — not to mention dozens of community partner organizations and the esteemed Selection Committee. The program is one of many corporate, civic and grassroots cohorts working to make Sacramento a recognized hub of innovation within the Northern California megaregion. Join the effort  — nominate or apply before July 20, 2018! Finalists will be announced on September 19 and Winners named at the Awards Luncheon on November 1, 2018.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All