• Innovation Awards Team

ALUMNI UPDATES: Terzo Power Systems

The SACRAMENTO REGION INNOVATION AWARDS aims to shine a light on the area’s vibrant innovation community. Terzo Power Systems was a 2017 FINALIST in the Sustainability category, recognized for its Hevi Hybrid Electric Power System.

In May of 2018, we asked for an update and received the following from CMO Rob Kindt.

Remind us, what was the big idea behind your innovation? Prius style Hybrid power train for Off-Road Heavy Equipment. Our goal is to increase energy efficiency levels from 20% up to 50%.

What’s new since your Innovation Awards recognition in 2017? We are marching along with our development. We are currently integrating all sub-systems into our pilot chassis (Almond Harvester) and will be doing field testing in the Fall 2018.

Any new innovations on the horizon, that you can share? We are planning to commercialize our technology into products that will be simple to integrate for smaller mobile equipment OEM’s and have the biggest market reach with least amount of customized integration.

What piece of advice would you give to an entrepreneur starting their first business?Be realistic about getting outside perspective and professional help on your project. Plan your budget to facilitate that.

What’s your “one thing” that most drives your professional success? Listening to outside perspectives and leveraging a greater team of experts to accomplish our goals.

What’s great about doing business here? The Sacramento region is growing as a hub for technology and business opportunity. The ability to work together with startups, investors, legislators, and academic institutions exponentially accelerates the growth potential for the area.

The off road heavy equipment industry is ready to embrace hybrid and electric technology. We are developing plug and play components to allow them to do it at market competitive prices.
Terzo Power Systems is based in El Dorado County, El Dorado Hills, CA. With ten employees and growing, the company is lead by Founder and CEO Mike Terzo.


El Dorado Hills hydraulic company raises $3.5 million in oversubscribed funding

Take a look back to the 2017 FINALISTS for Sustainability Innovation of the Year.

Sacramento Region Innovation Awards 2018: Call for Entries June 1 to July 20

The 3rd Annual SACRAMENTO REGION INNOVATION AWARDS will recognize the area’s vibrant innovation community — from startups to established companies — and their breakthrough creations. Apply yourself or submit a nomination between June 1 and July 20. Eligible entries will undergo a strict evaluation process by peers and leaders from the Capital Region’s business, civic and academic communities. Pioneering innovations will be judged on novelty, market need, economic impact and disruption.

The program will accept entries for recently developed business innovations that are established in the 9-county Sacramento region. New technologies, as well as other products, services and processes, must fit within one of the eight program categories, including 1) Advanced Manufacturing; 2) Food and Agribusiness; 3) Government and Civic; 4) Hardware and Electronics; 5) Medical and Health – MedTech; 6) Medical and Health – BioPharma; 7) Software; and 8) Sustainability. Additional eligibility requirements are described on the program website at

In celebrating regional innovation, the awards aim to strengthen the Sacramento story, build the local economy, and stimulate the creative minds fueling our innovation ecosystem. Founded in 2016 by business law firm Stoel Rives LLP, the program is made possible with support from Moss Adams LLP, the Sacramento Business Journal, Five Star Bank, and the Greater Sacramento Economic Council — not to mention dozens of community partner organizations and the esteemed Selection Committee. The program is one of many corporate, civic and grassroots cohorts working to make Sacramento a recognized hub of innovation within the Northern California megaregion. Join the effort  — nominate or apply before July 20, 2018! Finalists will be announced on September 19 and Winners named at the Awards Luncheon on November 1, 2018.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All